Review of PLATED Thai Chicken Burgers with Sriracha Mayo

Have you heard of this company? I saw them on Facebook, they had a special; four plates for free and you just pay shipping. I thought, “Why not!”. So, today is my review of the meal, the process, and the prices. The selling point of this company is, they send you everything in a box and all you need is a pot/ pan water, salt and pepper. They also claim it’s a great idea for people learning how to cook.

It appears that the delivery dates for the food are on set days. Mine arrived via FedEx on Thursday.

It arrived!!!!

It arrived!!!!

All three of us stood around it like it was Christmas. We were curious how it was packed and how it looked.

It was well packed. At the bottom, under everything was a huge reusable icepack.

It was well packed. At the bottom, under everything was a huge reusable icepack.

Then we peeked in it…

This is it!!! It's what's for dinner.

This is it!!! It’s what’s for dinner.

 

Now please forgive the light as I am preparing and cooking the meals. If it looks late, it is. We had what you call a “rolling blackout”, and I wasn’t able to start cooking until 10:00pm that night. So lets go!

This is one kit for two plates (or 2 servings if one person).

This is one kit for two plates (or two servings if one person).

 

You get a very visual menu/ directions. It covers step by step directions.

You get a very visual menu/ directions. It covers step by step directions.

 

After I started the Basmati Rice, I prepared the ingredients. Which consisted of a shallot, garlic, ginger, cilantro, and a lime. Then rinse the butter lettuce.

After I started the Basmati Rice, I prepared the ingredients. Which consisted of a shallot, garlic, ginger, cilantro, and a lime. Then I rinsed the butter lettuce.

 

Here is how it's looking.

Here is how it’s looking.

 

When i was done with the prep part, I thought i would check out PLATED's youtube channel to look at the directions they have on their channel.

When i was done with the prep part, I thought I would check out PLATED’s YouTube channel to look at the directions they have put up.

 

I prepared the burgers. This does make 2.

I prepared the burgers. This does make two.

 

Almost done!

Almost done!

 

It cooks 6 minutes on each side. The one on the left I did flip over again for a minute longer.

It cooks 6 minutes on each side. The one on the left I did flip over again for a minute longer.

 

Serving for two!

Serving for two!

 

I almost forgot the Sriracha Mayo!!!!!

I almost forgot the Sriracha Mayo!!!!!

 

The Cons:

The website was not the most user friendly. It was also a bit confusing about the “subscription” you are automatically enrolled into, not to mention the auto delivery that you better catch right away. I ended up canceling because it was so unclear. The cost of the meals is actually a bit high at roughly $12 a plate. You could go out for that, especially if you are feeding a family of 4 and then shipping….  The YouTube channel I have mixed feeling on. You would need to watch the video before you cook, not while you cook. Now I did have it playing in the background during the second half of the process, but only for the awesome 30’s style music. I was a little confused a first when I started making the food. Although I ordered four servings, it looked as if two were sent. Looking at the directions, initially it wasn’t clear if i was to cook it all together or 1/2 of it. The way I figured it out was by the amount of rice it called for. That could have been clarified better in the packaging. One of the gingers they sent was no good, lucky I always have ginger in the house.

The Pros:

It was so easy to make and a little fun too! The presentation of the meal looked wonderful when it was complete. As an added note, I have made this before on my own and it did not turn out looking this nice. It’s very tasty. You make the Sriracha Mayo, it is very hot, but so good! It’s all sent to you, no hassle.

Overall: I liked it. Would I order again from them? Maybe. If I wanted a really perfect dinner for say, if my mother-in-law was coming over (I have to be Martha Stewart at all times when she’s here….) I probably would. Or if I wanted a perfect dinner with friends, sure, why not. But not on a regular basis, and not for the family.

Ingredients (what it came with):

  • 3/4 cup basmati rice
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 shallot
  • 1/2 inch ginger
  • 1/4 bunch cilantro, divided
  • 4 leaves butter lettuce
  • 12 ounces ground chicken
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon honey mustard
  • 1 tablespoon sriracha
  • 4 packets mayonnaise

What you need at home:

  • Small pot with lid
  • large pan
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • kosher salt
  • black pepper

750 calories per serving.

I hope this helps you, or even gives you an idea for what to cook for dinner. Enjoy!!

 

Leave a comment